Our Lodge‎ > ‎

History of the Lodge

Castle of Leicester Lodge No.7767 was consecrated on Monday 25th September 1961.

The consecration took place in the Oliver Temple, Freemasons' Hall, London Road, Leicester.

The ceremony began at 4pm and was performed by the Provincial Grand Master, R.W.Bro Brig C.B.S.Morley C.B.E, T.D, D.L.

The Installation Ceremony was performed by the Deputy Provincial Grand Master, W.Bro W.G Fox T.D, D.L, M.A, J.P, P.A.G.D.C.

The incoming Officers were:
Worshipful Master - W.Bro Edward Whitby, PM 523 
Senior Warden - Bro. Laurence Ridgway
Junior Warden - Bro. William Hedley Swire

The full list of founders were as follows:

  • W.Bro James T.B Swift
  • W.Bro Fred Whitby
  • W.Bro Edward Whitby
  • W.Bro Albert Whitby
  • W.Bro Cecil M.R Smith
  • W.Bro Sydney J. Allen
  • W.Bro Herbert L.Healy
  • Bro. James M. Brown
  • Bro. Thomas J.Whitby
  • Bro. Cecil Jacobs
  • Bro. C.Kenneth Walker
  • Bro. Harold E. Elliot
  • Bro. Graham Bellamy
  • Bro. Samuel T.H Alldridge
  • Bro. Laurence Ridgway
  • Bro. Gerald L.Hill
  • Bro. Allan C. Timson
  • Bro. Ernald Langton
  • Bro. Joseph S.Norton
  • Bro. Berrick H.Hackett
  • Bro. William H.Swire
  • Bro. Leonard Starmer
  • Bro. Wilfred G.Smith
  • Bro. Arthur E.Tyler
  • Bro. John Sturges
  • Bro. Percy R. Ensor
  • Bro. Reginald P. Gillett